Who? Me? – Part 1

 

 

Who? Me?

Who? Me?

 

 

Isn’t it funny how we often find ourselves in situations where we’re leading (or volunteering) in areas where we feel totally inadequate!?

Why me?  What do I have to offer?  Over and over again in the Bible Jesus asked the humble and skipped over the “wise, religious” people when asking people to follow Him.  What does a fisherman have to offer Jesus?  A hated tax collector?  These are the people that helped lead after Jesus went up to heaven?  

I have often hear that saying “It’s not the ability, it’s the availability.”  What do you think?  Do you agree?  Jesus had disciples (aka – followers) that were from all  walks of life, left the known and followed Him into the unknown (do you hear the twilight zone music in your head?).  Jesus used these disciples to walk with Him, while He was on earth, share His love and connect with people (and so much more!)   

Mark 3:13-19    Jesus Appoints the Twelve Apostles

 13 Jesus went up on a mountainside. He called for certain people to come to him, and they came. 14 He appointed 12 of them and called them apostles. From that time on they would be with him. He would also send them out to preach. 

This is only 2 verses from the Bible, but you can see a few things (I bolded phrases) that stand out.  He called.  They came.  They were with Jesus.  He sent them out.  

He called – Jesus called them.

Luke 5:27
The Calling of Levi ] After this, Jesus went out and saw a tax collector by the name of Levi sitting at his tax booth. “Follow me,” Jesus said to him,

Luke 18:22
When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

They came – if Jesus is calling you, go!

They were with Jesus – are you with Him daily?  Seeking Him?  Talking to Him?

Jesus sent them out – He gave them opportunities to lead/teach.  Take those opportunities when God’s sends you to them!  

You know they doubted their usefulness at times – even with Jesus right in their midst! (it’s even written in the Bible – check out Peter – who Jesus had renamed, The Rock!)  “The Rock” doubted and even denied Jesus. ” The Rock” also was forgiven and went on to do amazing things.  God knows that we may doubt the areas He calls us to.  Why else would he have put the stories in the Bible for us, but to encourage us?  It’s easy to say, don’t doubt, but, don’t doubt!  Jesus put you in that position to lead (or volunteer or teach or whatever else) and He will give you the wisdom and strength to do it!

AN EXTRA NOTE:

Now, although Jesus loves all of us, and calls all of us to Him, He has a specific plan and purpose for each of us.  So, if you’re not doing anything, ask God what He wants you to do.  If you’re doing everything, ask God what He wants you to do.  Sounds pretty simple, but I know it’s hard to do.  If you’re doing everything, than you’re not doing what God really wants you to do with all of the energy and quality.  &  even more, someone that God does want in that place isn’t there!  If you’re doing too much to do what God is calling you to, what do you need to give up to have more time or resources?

This is where I’m at right now.  Let’s follow Jesus.


5 responses to “Who? Me? – Part 1

  1. Nicely put Virginia. I whole heartedly agree. Since I started focusing on my “availability, not ability” it really has freed me. I think insecurities and self-doubt really can paralyze us from impacting others. I trust God that he will give me the ability part. I just need to do my part of seeking out.

  2. At a time in my life when I thought I was ‘drowning’ I felt the Holy Spirit moving me toward volunteering. It started at my daughter’s school and wound up being permanent employment. From there I became a member of The Journey and felt the Holy Spirit “dragging” me into service again. I’ve learned over and over in this time, that it is when we give of ourselves – that we receive SO much – blessings we never expected!

  3. Yes, yes, yes. I have no idea what i’m doing in kid’s stuff….but He does. We need to trust Him more. Why, oh, why do we doubt?!? Each one of us knows the truth, that he has a plan for us. I don’t know why we fight it so much. We are a silly bunch, isn’t we?

  4. What an encouraging post! It is so easy to feel ‘less-than’. I cant wait to see what happens when we all give more of ourselves and know that God is in control!

  5. I think that it is important for all of us to volunteer as much time as possible for the church and the KIDS. I spend almost all of my free time working with kids. Whether in school, football, soccer or journey kids. This is one of the gifts that I believe god has given me. The ability to communicate with kids and be able to relate things so they understand them and to make it fun at the same time. Andrea says it’s because I am a kid myself but I say it’s a gift from god.

Leave a Reply

