Skeptic Question #1

Last Sunday we wrapped up our Skeptic Series at The Journey.  There were a few questions left so we split some of them up at our staff meeting yesterday and will be answering them on our blogs this week.  For today we have two questions:

“Does God really know if (we) can handle our trials?  Why (do some) have to go through so many (trials)?”

I didn’t go to seminary or anything, so I’ll attempt to answer these:

In the Bible there is story after story of people going through lots of things (crap).  Through the Bible we see over and over that God wants us to rely on Him and not try to handle it on our own. We can trust in Him and move forward knowing that God is with us.  What does He promise us in the Bible?

“Never will I leave you;
never will I forsake you.”
[a] 6So we say with confidence,
“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?”
[b]

Job was a man in the Bible (as a matter of fact there’s a whole book in there with his story.)  who went through a ton!  He was a good, honest man that followed God.  He lost his family, $, health, pretty much we’d say he lost everything.  Job’s friends told him He must’ve done something really bad to have had all of these things happen to him & it wasn’t true…but Job continued to trust in God & God was with him.   (Is it just a consequence of sin?  Did we do something wrong and not expect consequences?  This is a question we can ask only ourselves.)

I just went through a brain tumor/surgery and I know that I kept hearing this statement – “God won’t give you more than you can handle” but I want to add onto that – without Him.  God doesn’t say that life will be easy, but I do know that whatever comes my way, that God loves me, God made me and I will spend eternity with Him in heaven because Jesus died on the cross for me.  Anything else that comes our way may not be easy, but aren’t those truths all we need?

This is found in 2 Corinthians 1:8-11 (I added the bold/underline)….

8 Brothers and sisters, we want you to know about the hard times we suffered in Asia Minor. We were having a lot of trouble. It was far more than we could stand. We even thought we were going to die. 9 In fact, in our hearts we felt as if we were under the sentence of death.

But that happened so that we would not depend on ourselves but on God. He raises the dead to life. 10 God has saved us from deadly dangers. And he will continue to do it. We have put our hope in him. He will continue to save us.

11 You must help us by praying for us. Then many people will give thanks because of what will happen to us. They will thank God for his kindness to us in answer to the prayers of many.

I like this part too – that people will praise God for walking with them through their trials.  People will see God working in our lives and praise God!  That’s awesome!

So does God give us more than we can handle?  I’m not so sure He gives us things – but rather allows us to go through things so we can rely on Him.

Leave a Reply

