Parenting Beyond Your Capacity – Chapter 2

Does anyone else read books with pens and highlighters?  I’m terrible about marking up books.  I don’t like reading other people’s books because mine end up marked up.  Here are some of my highlights from Chapter 2 – STOCK FAMILY SYNDROME:

Our stories and families are all different.  No two are the same.  We all know this, right!?  Then why do we all compare and try to look like the perfect family?  Go to iStock photo and search for  “family” images and see what comes up! Yeah, I know that I’ll look just like them in a few years.  I was joking at staff meeting on Monday that I must look a mess most days.  Let’s just look at my grocery trip: I rush into Meijer, Eliana’s climbing out of the cart restraint, I have swamp pit, my hair is standing on end, the elastic waistband pregnancy pants are falling to my knees, Eliana is eating my shopping list (hey, she’s being quiet), dirty looks from Grandmothers, and yes at the end of it all, there’s the penny horse to ride as the milk sours. Oh, and where did I park the car?  Do I feel like that perfect mother?  No way!  I only have 1 toddler, and 1 on the way.  I often feel like I’m failing as a wife and mother, but this chapter talks about just that.  (So, curious as I am, I searched “tired mom” on istock – check out what came up. Yeah, right!)

I feel like this is a good time to stop today.  So, we’re all messed up.  Let’s see what the 2nd half of the chapter says in the next post.

Leave a Reply

